In With In Crowd

October 3, 2010

I received an email this morning that made my whole day, week and month. I have been accepted into the Will County Master Gardener Program!

It’s been a flurry of emails, applications, and changes. Originally, I applied for the South Cook County program, then found out the whole thing is being taught online. Chicago’s is held at Garfield Park Conservatory so I asked to be transferred there. Then they suggested Will County, so I can do my volunteer hours closer to my own community. I applied there and now I’M IN!!!

When I investigated the Tinley Park Garden Club this summer, Lucy told me that she is now certified and she was completely bowled over by the massive amount of information they teach. “If you think you know alot, let me tell you,” she said. “You really don’t know anything.” So in my position, thinking I really don’t know that much at all, I’m a little scared.

The program runs for 10 weeks, January through mid-March, all day on Fridays. My time-management skills will be tested, but as Tony said, things always slow down at that time of year and this will be a great way for me to combat the really scary seasonal affective disorder that hits me right after the holidays and lasts until mid-February. If there’s no sunshine out there, I start going a little out of my gourd and this will really be the perfect antidote!

The volunteer opportunities intrigue me! I may be able to help a school plant a garden, talk to groups and share my new-found knowledge or create publications that promote garden education.

I am excited! This is personal development for me – it has nothing to do with my job, my family or business volunteering. For 6-1/2 hours every Friday, I’ll be doing something completely out of the box!

My check is written and sealed in the envelope to mail tomorrow! I am IN!

Leave a Reply

