Watering the Mice

August 1, 2010

Just in case you’re wondering, the way to eliminate mice in your compost is to keep it really wet. So that’s what I’ve been doing; taking water from the rainbarrels and pouring it over the compost. Great way to use that captured water and fantastic way to keep the compost little-furry-vermin free.

I also used it today to water in all the plants I moved yesterday. Back and forth, back and forth. I do believe the system is working better than I thought, but it’s still not perfect. I’ll have to wait until the barrels are nearly empty to really make the adjustments and with all the rain, we’ve been having – the third wettest July on record – I don’t see that happening.

The accidental potatoes are big enough to enjoy for dinner tonight, the roma tomatoes are covering the vines. I pulled out a zucchini plant, as that’s an effective way to get rid of both the powdery mildew and the overabundance of zucchini. Still only two real watermelon that I can see. The purple runner beans have gasped their last too.

After all that work yesterday and I can see more plants that need trimming, including the Joe Pye weed in the back bed and the delphinium that needs to be cut back to its basal crown.

Gotta go water the compost….

Leave a Reply

