A View From The Hammock

June 4, 2010

What a SHOCKER today. After blooming, fading, falling and going to seed, the clematis in the front has popped out one final (I think!) bloom. How incredibly random and how wonderfully unexpected – like a gift from the gods of the garden.

I took a seat (well, actually a lay down) in the hammock and made a photo of what I can see from that favorite spot. It was a disappointing result. The photo doesn’t capture the tinkle of the pond, the fragrance of the flowers or the expanse and color of the garden. Everything in the photo seems a little flat, and that flush of goldfinch at the feeder, several at once, just doesn’t show up. The blooms don’t pop, the texture doesn’t show. I’m thinking that I’ll need to have a “come see the real thing” party sometime in July.

The hydrangea are packed with blossoms and I am so happy. After many years of trying, I’ve got them! Pink and blue and beautiful, an old-fashioned flower that complements the architecture of our home so well. Already, I can’t wait until next year, anticipating how much larger they’ll be in 12 months time. Hopefully, they will begin to dominant that bed after the peonies fade, so we can hide all that dead peony mess with hydrangea. The huge clump of dying stems and leaves can’t be cut back until the fall, so if the hydrangeas get large enough, we won’t be stuck looking at it.

The veggie garden is EXPLODING. All those vegetable peels, shredded paper, grass clippings and just a soupcon of dirt seems to have been the bee’s knees. (I’m also getting random potatoes from eyes I cut out and composted) The beans are huge, the brussel sprouts growing larger (I have never planted these before so have no idea what to expect – does it grow out? Up? I just know this is like a science experiment for me!) the zucchini and watermelon branching everywhere. I’ve been snapping off the salad greens and it’s pretty tasty. I hope to get salads for the whole family come Sunday and then let them grow in again for another salad next week. I can already start harvesting basil leaves and need to watch those plants carefully for buds and cut them off immediately. Blooms on basil means bitter basil. And no one wants that.

The peppers have no buds yet, but I am expecting them soon. The peas are pokey, perhaps intimidated by the robust radishes that are rampantly ravaging through their rows (well, that was fun to write!).

I called Danny to inform him of his watermelon’s progress and as usual, was lucky to get 20 seconds of conversation. He’s not a phone talker, that’s for sure.

The yarrow in the butterfly bed is enormous and starting to bloom in yellow umbrellas. The butterfly weed is blooming orange and red, and white and purple butterflies flitter around the oregano, also in bloom. The fall clematis has raced itself to the top of the trellis and it’s only June. I believe it could cover the front of the house if we could support it.

Saw the same small Damn Rabbit again today, near the side of the butterfly bed that’s all eaten. He was trying to look innocent. I did not buy it.

The lamb’s ear is already starting to bloom, pink on stalks of green-grey. The contrast of this plant pleases the artist in me. Until now, it’s been soft and touchable. Brush it against your skin and it feels like velvet. Then the blooms come and go, really incongruous in the first place. And where those blossoms were will be a bottle brush, hard and scratchy and unpleasant. That will all be cut back and discarded quickly, because unpleasant has no place in my garden.

Leave a Reply

