Trellises coming together?

April 30, 2010

Tony and I did a trip to Menards to find 2 x 2’s, complete with the obligatory jokes about wood. He is a focused shopper and I am not, especially in a hardware store with a garden department.

When we walked in, I told him we needed to go to the back, to the lumber department.

I stopped to look at gloves, then tried to find the plastic white duck with the three little yellow ducklings lawn ornaments. All I saw were pink flamingos. I walked through the doors, opened a few to see how they felt and finally knocked on some porch supports in case ours need replacing instead of painting.

He went to the lumber department.

Needless to say, we were home with lumber in tow very quickly.

Tony sawed the 8 foot pieces in half and we placed the trellises and the supports on the floor so Dominic could just screw them together when he got home.

Well, he had to find the drill and then the drill bits and then the screwdriver bit and then the screws. Then he stripped seven screws before I told him that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over expecting different results. We determined that the lead holes have to be wider (well, I suggested it, he told me I didn’t know what I was talking about, I insisted he try it, and when it worked, he said it was really about something else entirely and that was just a coincidence that it worked with the bigger holes. I kept breathing and muttering “I love my son. I love my son. I love my son.”)

Now one is assembled, but the cordless drill died (hmm, could it be from riding around in the CAR TRUNK for a week?) so we’re waiting to assemble the other. Meanwhile, he had to go play hockey.

So it will probably be fall before these things get mounted outside. SIGH….

Leave a Reply

