An orgy in the garden

March 24, 2010

WHEW! I got worn out just watching them!

By 8 am this morning, I was telling the cardinals, robins, juncos, doves and squirrels to just go get a room. I feel like I’m running a house of ill repute for wildlife.

The cardinals were the first I really noticed, and of course I noticed the male first, hopping around the garden, tugging at sticks, rolling in the dirt. As I watched, the female joined him, always a little lower in the branches and behind him on the ground. Just for once, I’d like to see a sassy female cardinal.

The doves have that whole equality thing understood. Very rarely can you tell male from female. They walk together, nest together and take care of the babies together. Dad is just as grey and soft as Mom, no garish colors for him. Is it the colors that make the male of those species so dominant? Do they feel that specialness and keep their females in their place because of it? Hmmm…. Sounds alot like some human beings, doesn’t it?

I’ll need to check the shelf on the front porch as I would imagine that has already been claimed by a dove pair. As much as I love birds, that shelf was a ridiculous idea. It was built just for a nest and so the porch is covered with straw and dove poop and feathers and mess until the chicks hatch, fledge and fly. Really, who’s stupid idea was that? I can’t enjoy my porch for weeks! That has to come down this fall (as I’ve said every fall for about 10 years now).

About four robins came and splashed in the pond water. Strange thing I’ve noticed – while we think of robins as more solitary birds, in the past two years I’ve noticed more and more flocks of them. Last year, I counted 12 at one time in and around the pond.

The squirrel is truly a friend of mine. She lives in the big nest in our pin oak and chatters at me all summer long. I usually chatter back, explaining that I own the place and she should really be glad she picked my oak tree, as my neighbor knocks all his nests out each year (my husband and kids think I’m nuts, but they don’t understand our relationship). She did make me a little nervous today because she started digging and I was afraid for my lily bulbs. Turns out she was only looking for a dirt bath, as she rolled around and made quite the mess of herself. I love how they freeze and move, then freeze again. They’d make great CIA agents.

Thankfully, all this, ahem, activity ended by 9:30 or I would have never accomplished anything. The daffodils out front have finally bloomed and the weather remained delicious all day long. More and more plants are emerging, stretching leaves open to the sun. I am mentally preparing for a snowstorm within the next few weeks, as this is just too good to be true.

Although we entertained the Wild Kingdom today, there were no Damn Rabbits. I think that’s too good to be true too.

Leave a Reply

